Home    •    Committees    •    For Authors    •    Program    •    Registration    •    Local Information
For Authors: Call for Paper, Paper Submission, Camera Ready Instructions

Camera-ready Papers - Final Paper Format and Submission

Authors of accepted papers should prepare and submit the final camera-ready paper by final paper submission deadline (i.e. December 7th). Total paper length (including illustrations and references) should be 4 pages for short papers and 8 pages for full papers respectively.

Authors must submit their papers in Portable Document Format (PDF), via the EDAS conference system. The document must not be encrypted, locked, or otherwise write-protected.

For the camery ready versions of papers it is mendatory to use the (unaltered) templates provided on this site:

  • Template for Microsoft Word.
  • Template for LaTeX. For easy formatting, please include your paper in the source file
    provided in the archive.

PDF Conformance

To facilitate the PDF conformance checking or to create a PDF file conforming IEEE demands out of your source, we have registered WONS 2008 at IEEE PDF eXpress. In order to check your manuscript for PDF conformance, please create an account at the IEEE PDF eXpress site using the conference ID WONS08 and upload your file(s). After your manuscript has successfully been checked, upload the respective PDF file on the EDAS conference system.


IEEE policy requires that, prior to publication, all authors or their employers must transfer to the IEEE in writing any copyright they hold for their individual papers. Transferring copyright is a necessary requirement for publication, except for material in the public domain or which is reprinted with permission from a previously published, copyrighted publication.

Copyright forms will need to be completed by all authors with accepted papers at WONS 2008.

The Copyright Form can be downloaded from this site as PDF and MS Word files. You need to include your paper's EDAS number, paper title and all authors in the relevant sections. Please return the Copyright Form by December 10th 2007. Any forms not received by this date will mean the paper will not be included in the Proceedings or in IEEE Xplore. The Form must include the EDAS Paper Number in the top right corner. It can be faxed to: +49 721 608-6789 or sent via email (signed versions only) to killat@tm.uni-karlsruhe.de. If emailing your form, please ensure that the signature can be clearly seen when the form is printed.

Call for Papers and Paper Submission

The Call For Paper for the WONS 2008 is available as a PDF file and as plain text (below).
Paper submission is handled by EDAS: Please follow this link to proceed to the EDAS conference system.

             CALL FOR PAPERS - IEEE/IFIP WONS 2008 
             The Fifth International Conference on Wireless 
             On-demand Network Systems and Services 

             January 23-25, 2008. Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Scope of the conference
With the increasing variety of wireless technologies, ubiquitous connectivity
and service provisioning more and more complements traditional,
infrastructure-based cellular networks. WLANs, WiMax, Mobile Ad-hoc networks as
well as vehicular networks and sensor networks are popular examples. The goal
is to provide services "on demand" with minimal planning and management
effort as well as with little dependency on existing network infrastructures.

On-demand provisioning of services in such infrastructure-less environments is
a challenge in itself. Methods for self-organisation are strongly required to
enable this vision. Other challenges are posed by the architectures suited for
different networks and applications (e.g., specialized architectures for sensor
networks) also raising issues with respect to interoperability.

WONS is now at its fifth edition and is still confronted with new technical
challenges and new application demands. As such it provides a premier forum for
high quality paper presentations and lively discussions.

For this conference we request submissions of high quality research papers on
"wireless on demand networks" that provide novel insights on protocol and
network design, modeling and performance evaluation, pricing and profitability
models, QoS models, practical implementations, service level aspects and
Internet integration of wireless networks.

Topics related to wireless ad hoc networks, mesh networks, vehicular networks
and sensor networks comprise, but are not limited to:
   * Architecture and Design
   * Analysis through simulation and experimental evaluation
   * Modeling 
   * Internet integration
   * Social and economic aspects
   * Pervasive / ubiquitous computing
   * Localization and mobility management
   * Security
   * Energy-efficient protocols and power management
   * Applications and Service Support 
   * Data dissemination and Peer-to-Peer systems
   * Middleware aspects
   * Self-X and network management

Manuscript submissions
Submitted papers must not have been published elsewhere nor currently be under
review by another conference or journal. Authors are invited to submit
double-column full (8 pages) and short papers (4 pages) in PDF format having a
font size no smaller than 10pt. Short papers should present future research
directions, ongoing work, visionary, innovative ideas. Further submission
instructions will be published on the conference web site.

Extended Paper Submission Deadline: October 19, 2007
Notification of Acceptance: November 16, 2007
Camera-Ready Deadline: December 7, 2007

Organization - Executive Committee
General Chair
    Martina Zitterbart, University of Karlsruhe

Technical Program Co-Chair
    Bahar Sadeghi, Intel Corporation
    Hannes Hartenstein, University of Karlsruhe

Local Organization Chair
    Falko Dressler, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Publicity and Web-Chair
    Peter Baumung, University of Karlsruhe
    Moritz Killat, University of Karlsruhe
Steering Committee
    Renato Lo Cigno (Chair), University of Trento
    Ernst Biersack, Institute EURECOM
    Edward W. Knightly, Rice University
    Mario Gerla, UCLA
    Ioannis Stavrakakis, University of Athens

Technical Program Committee (partial list)
    Ernst Biersack, Institute EURECOM
    Torsten Braun, University of Bern
    Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University
    Marco Conti, CNR-IIT
    Andrzej Duda, LSR-IMAG Laboratory
    Mario Gerla, UCLA
    Silvia Giordano, SUPSI of Lugano
    Holger Karl, University of Paderborn
    Edward W. Knightly, Rice University
    Renato Lo Cigno, University of Trento
    Henrik Lundgren, Thomson Research
    Stefan Mangold, Swisscom
    Martin Mauve, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf
    Pietro Michiardi, Institute Eurecom
    Michele Rossi, University of Padova
    Ioannis Stavrakakis, University of Athens
    Kurt Tutschku, University of Würzburg
    Michael Welzl, University of Innsbruck
© 2007 by Peter Baumung     -     Contact: baumung@tm.uka.de